Sarav's Weblog

Technical Articles for RoR Developers

Want to See How Much Sploggers Steal from Your Blog? FairShare from Attributor Will Help You Find Out


At this very moment at the Creative Commons Technology Summit in Cambridge Attributor is previewing a new free product for bloggers and various web publishers that is intended for everyone to see exactly who is stealing our content and how they use it to make money off our work.

Attributor is a company that works with various web publishers – big and small – to point them to places where people steal their content. The crawler finds your content republished elsewhere and analyzes it to see if you got a link back and if the content is monetized on the site it is found on with ads. In addition to helping you identify the thieves Attributor also offers handy tools to demand that your content is removed or at least a link back to your own site is added.

I spent some time last week on the phone with Attributor as they were generous enough to analyze Profy feed as they are looking to connect to bloggers and probably see how we react to their ideas and products. I was very curious as I know many bloggers would have been as we are invariably concerned with everything about our blogs stats so it is no wonder I wanted to see the results of such analysis a lot (the screenshots used here are from Attributor report for Profy).

7 responses to “Want to See How Much Sploggers Steal from Your Blog? FairShare from Attributor Will Help You Find Out

  1. saravani December 16, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Fairshare is a very welcome service. Copyscape is pretty good too but the more the merrier. Google Alert is also a handy tool to keep watch over your intellectual property. Of course, the embedding tools of the new Connect services, handy as they may be for marketing, will make the challenge a bit steeper again. Indeed, there is a thin line between strategic generosity and mistaken generosity.

  2. saravani December 16, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Jimmy, I also think that Fairshare is a very promising service to help us handle the problem. Of course various existing tools can be helpful but anything that can make the process simpler and more convenient for publishers will be more than welcome.

    And you certainly pose an interesting question of determining what type of generosity it is in how you handle your content yourself and figure out what will add value to you and what will not.

  3. saravani December 16, 2008 at 6:44 am

    I myself clip content from other blogs to my own blog. But my blog isnt meant to be read by anyone else but me. I havent enabled search engines to my blog, I dont have pingbacks. My blog is like my personal notebook, like my own bookmarking tools for interesting texts. So dont assume that everyone clipping information from the net is “sploggers” that want to steal your stuff to make money out of it. I have clipped content from this site, and Im not a splogger

  4. saravani December 16, 2008 at 7:00 am

    @bollonet boll: You definitely can not be categorized as a splogger as you clearly mention that you only keep your blog for yourself and don’t even open it to search engines. Sploggers not only steal content from us, they also put ads alongside this content and monetize it in this manner. There is a big difference so feel free to continue to copy content from this blog for your personal use if you find it useful enough.

  5. saravani December 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

    There are probably some educational uses here as well, as Turnitin has become a defacto standard for looking for plagiarism with students, this might help, Turnitin does not do blogs. It would be interesting to take some of my students papers and run it through this, however it ends up working. There probably is a way to make this work.

    🙂 Thanks

  6. Rich January 20, 2009 at 4:33 am

    Hi Saravani,

    I just wanted to let you know that we’ve started letting users in to beta test FairShare at http://beta.fairshare.cc

    We still have lots to add but would be very interested in your feedback.

    Rich

  7. James S February 3, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    I personally use the http://www.copygator.com website, it’s a service already available that does the same thing

    1. it’s automated and brings me results instead of me searching for duplicated content. All i had to do was submit my feed and it started monitoring my feed showing me who’s republished my articles on the web.

    2. i get notified by email so it contacts me when it finds copies of my articles online.

    3. i use their image badge feature to alert me directly on my website when my content is being lifted.

    4. it’s a free service

Leave a Reply

